Historic Monuments in the Małopolska region

The Historic Monument is one of five forms of monument protection listed in the Act on the Protection of Monuments and Care over Monuments of 2003. This term refers to a fixed monument of special importance for the Polish culture.

The rank of the Historic Monument is emphasized by the fact that it is established by the President of the Republic of Poland within a special regulation at the request of the Minister of Culture and National Heritage. The presidential decree specifies the features of a given monument proving its highest value, precisely defines its boundaries and places a schematic map of the object.

Historic Monuments have been established since 1994. To this day, the highest distinction was granted to 109 monuments throughout Poland, of which many are located in the Małopolska region. They include objects of special tangible and intangible value and significance for the cultural heritage of Poland. The elite group of Historic Monuments can be joined by architectural objects, cultural landscapes, urban or rural systems, technical monuments, defence buildings, parks and gardens, cemeteries, memorial sites for major events or historical figures, as well as archaeological sites.

Historic Monuments located within the Małopolskie voivodship are:

Bochnia – salt mine
Kalwaria Zebrzydowska – mannerist pilgrimage park
Krakow – the historical city complex  
Krakow – Kościuszko Mound with the surroundings
Racławice – the area of the historical Battle of Racławice
Stary Sącz – the Old Town complex with the monastery of the Poor Clares
Szalowa – parish church of  St. Michael the Archangel
Tyniec – Benedictine abbey complex
Wieliczka – salt mine

Nowy Wiśnicz - architectural and landscape complex

Staniątki - St. Wojciech Mniszek Benedyktynek


Download free VisitMałopolska app
Apple iOS
Windows Phone

Related Assets