Kasztel Szymbark

Szymbark – fortified manor

Szymbark – fortified manor
Poniedziałek 09:00 - 17:00
Wtorek 09:00 - 17:00
Środa 09:00 - 17:00
Czwartek 09:00 - 17:00
Piątek 09:00 - 17:00
Sobota 09:00 - 18:00
Niedziela 09:00 - 18:00
Uwagi nt. dostępności: Szymbark – fortified manor -
Szymbark, 38-311 Szymbark Tourist subregion: Beskidzki
Prices: Ceny maksymalne: 7 Ceny minimalne: 2
Facilities at cultural sites: Photographing allowed
Type of historical sites: Castles, manor houses and palaces
There are beacons in this object
There is a unique historic building you won’t find anywhere else in the country, situated in the Ropa valley, at the foot of the Low Beskids. Unlike other typical Polish gentry residences, the fortified manor in Szymbark bears more resemblance to a plethora of similar buildings from the territory of Slovakia and Czech Republic. The Renaissance defensive building with four tower-like corner annexes is crowned with a high attic, and there are remains of the sgraffito decoration on the walls. This manor was built as the seat of the Gładysz family of the Gryf coat of arms in the first half of the 16th century. The manor owns its present appearance to the reconstruction from around 1590, although the building was destroyed several times afterwards, e.g. by Hungarian Prince Rakoczy during the Swedish invasion in 1657 and during World War II. Large-scale renovation work is presently taking place. When it’s complete, the building is to become the home of the Gorlice region cultural centre with museum, conference and concert rooms.
Play Play